Installing applications as services

Forum for asking questions and discussing technical problems related to your OESM hosted server.

Moderators: FeLiX, Mr.Magoo

Installing applications as services

Postby DLinkOZ » Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:00 pm

This will assume my particular install of Windows 2003, so paths may change for you. I had searched around quite a bit for this info, and finally got it working by combining bits from various sites. Once I came up with these steps, I got 2 HL servers, 1 Halo server, 1 BFV server and HLStats running without issue and on the first try. Here's what you do:

Install the Windows resource kit
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

Create a service with srvany for each instance you want. For example, if you want to install a TFC server and a CS server, run the following command twice. For each one, replace the "name" with what you want to call the service, maybe TFC-Server and CS-Server.

"C:\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools\instsrv" "name" "C:\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools\srvany.exe"

Open regedit and navigate to:
HKLM > System > CurrentControlSet > Services

Find service "name", where "name" is what you gave it above (ie - TFC-Server or CS-Server).

Create the following under that service:
New Key named Parameters
within Parameters -
new string named AppDirectory, value = app's directory
new string named Application, value = path to app
new string named AppParameters, value = any startup arguments

Open the Services control panel, then open the "name" properties -
Set Log On to your account info
Set recovery options as desired
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby esossai » Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:36 pm

Hey DlinkOZ

Would you mind to put an example of it. I think i mess up on the regedit part. The application seen to be running but i can't find it on the steam server list.

I also noted that for some reason it takes to little memory when i run it manually iit takes like 76-80kb and when runnning using you setup it is no more tha 8kb so i am pretty sure something is wrong on my set and i am almost 100% positive in on the regedit part.
Thanks
esossai
esossai
noobeh
noobeh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 9:30 am

Postby DLinkOZ » Sun Feb 20, 2005 2:38 am

Check your command line variables (AppParameters) value. I start that entry with a space. Most times when see the hlds process not using much memory, the server didn't initialize properly, most likely due to improper or missing parameters.
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby esossai » Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:27 am

Hey never mind. I found what was missing. The "-console" is mandatody for this to work. If the person is using the GUI mode as i was it will not iitializa.
Thanks
esossai
esossai
noobeh
noobeh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 9:30 am

Award

Postby basin95 » Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:46 am

:(! You should definatly be given smoething for that. :X
basin95
 


Return to Technical Support / Technical Q and A

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron