ftp attributes (read/write)

Forum for asking questions and discussing technical problems related to your OESM hosted server.

Moderators: FeLiX, Mr.Magoo

ftp attributes (read/write)

Postby MajorFreak » Mon Dec 13, 2004 11:59 pm

DLinkOZ; i'm not sure if it's your side or mine, but i'm having problems changing the read/write attributes of my avatar folder.

i also think the inability to write/read the upgrade.php file is hampering my upgrade to 2.0.11
7.ii. Changed files only
As for the other upgrade procedures you should run install/update_to_210.php after you have finished updating the files. This will update your database schema and data (if appropriate) and increment the version number.
uploaded everything to ftp, but when i run that php file all i get is a blank page...loading my forum still shows the old version.

*whimper*
    no biggie. nothing's horribly desperate. just annoying
MajorFreak
Spammer
Spammer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 2:01 am
Location: bc, canada

Postby DLinkOZ » Tue Dec 14, 2004 12:13 am

I uploaded the /install/upgrade whatever .php file and was able to get it done without issue. Looking at your directory structure, I see the upgrade scripts in the main directory of the msg board. They need to be in a subdirectory named install.
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby MajorFreak » Tue Dec 14, 2004 12:23 am

:?: *scratches head* ehhhhhhh...i'd had to delete those folders in order to access the forums again.

not suuuuuuuuure exactly what "scripts" you're talking about. :?:
MajorFreak
Spammer
Spammer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 2:01 am
Location: bc, canada

Postby MajorFreak » Tue Dec 14, 2004 12:26 am

oh! wait wait..i think i get it now. you mean the 1.0.4 zip file IN the zip file for 2.0.11 upgrade has to be uploaded to the INSTALL folder??

omfg :!:
MajorFreak
Spammer
Spammer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 2:01 am
Location: bc, canada

Postby DLinkOZ » Tue Dec 14, 2004 12:31 am

Yeah, pick the zip that corresponds to your situation (mine was 2.0.10 to 2.0.11) and unzip that, upload the included files and run the update file via a web browser. Then delete the install directory and you're golden.
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby MajorFreak » Tue Dec 14, 2004 1:44 am

:evil: dlink. did you read the thread title? i'm having massive problems trying to change the write/read attributes of folders files and all in my ftp section.
500 'SITE CHMOD 700 /phpBB': command not understood

was it something madcat did? i'm starting to get REALLY ticked off with paranoid schizophrenics and their security measures for no other reason than to piss me off


my forum is now screwed. no fault of your own, of course. grrrrrrrrrr grrrrrrrr

http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... 23#1351023




btw, i'm using bulletproof ftp proggie. maybe that's what's buggering my attempts at chmod changes??!?!?!!?
:?: :roll: :cry:
MajorFreak
Spammer
Spammer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 2:01 am
Location: bc, canada

Postby MajorFreak » Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am

i tried and tried and tried and now, frankly, i don't give a damn. please revert the whole damn thing back to monday's backup, thanks I'll stick with 2.0.4 till hell freezes over.

i'm F*cking positive it's to do with the fact i can't even do CHmod changes via my ftp program (the server says no way)
    is that something you did or was it madcat?
MajorFreak
Spammer
Spammer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 2:01 am
Location: bc, canada

Postby DLinkOZ » Tue Dec 14, 2004 12:49 pm

You won't be able to change permissions, this is a Windows system. I'll take a look at things.
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby DLinkOZ » Tue Dec 14, 2004 12:53 pm

I just posted a test topic in your board, no problem that I can see. What exactly is going on?
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

problems? hahaah *passes out*

Postby MajorFreak » Tue Dec 14, 2004 1:28 pm

lemmie make you an administrator of the forums so you can see how horrible things are. #1 problem is the forum still says "1.0.4" at the bottom. #2 problem is the admin panel shows 169kbytes avatars when there's ALOT more than that #3 problem is that i can't add any smilies even though i've got them in the correct folder #4 problem is i can't enable the visual authorization even though i have subsilver as the default #5 problem is i'm certain that i've buggered things up horribly by following these instructions:

bcs10 wrote:if you have no MODs installed just download the new full package... remove the config.php files as well as the install and contrib directories and upload everything that is left... they you go... all updated to 2.0.11
and apologies for making you admin rank. now you see ALL the forums :oops:

i'd rather have the option to start over and do i successfully the way it was MEANT to be updated. just like you did it...i'm positive i followed the same steps, it was just that the CHmod probably prevented me from using the upgrade php file (it's attributes were 000)
MajorFreak
Spammer
Spammer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2002 2:01 am
Location: bc, canada

Postby DLinkOZ » Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:05 pm

I'll take a look. It was 000 because chmod is a nix thing, and this is Windows and knows nothing about this chmod thing you speak of :)
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby DLinkOZ » Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:12 pm

Ok, I ran through the steps. I uploaded all the 2.0.4 -> 2.0.11 changed files, then ran /install/update_to_2011.php and got good results:

Information
Database type :: mysql
Previous version :: 2.0.4
Updated version :: 2.0.11

Updating database schema
Progress :: . Done
Result :: No errors

Updating data
Progress :: . . .

Updating version and optimizing tables
Progress :: . . Done
Result :: No errors

Update completed
You should now visit the General Configuration settings page in the Administration Panel and check the General Configuration of the board. If you updated from versions prior to RC-3 you must update some entries. If you do not do this emails sent from the board will contain incorrect information. Don't forget to delete this file!


Your board has the correct info at the bottom. Now I'll loook at the other things.
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby DLinkOZ » Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 pm

Used my laptop to go to the registration page, and the visual confirmation is working. I'll check on your avatar situation.
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby DLinkOZ » Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:16 pm

Figured out the avatar "thing". Your actualy avatars are in a subdirectory of images/avatars named gallery. Try making that your avatar directory in the admin control panel. The 169 bytes is correct, as the only thing in the images/avatars directory is an index.html which weighs in at... 169 bytes. So this leaves the whole smiley thing.


*edit*

The gallery thing is right, actually. When I choose an avatar via my control panel, I can select all the 5th element avatars... If I put an x in front of 5thElement so it's not the first directory found, but instead now Aliens is, I'm able to choose aliens. This appears to be a shortcoming of phpbb... that maybe it can only do 1 subdirectory?
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby DLinkOZ » Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:24 pm

Btw, your images/smiles directory is empty.
"Proving the human condition, one idiot at a time"
Server Pimpage
DLinkOZ`Fbs
"Diplomacy is the act of saying "Nice doggie!" till you can find a rock"
"Department of Redundancy Department"
"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines"
"Quantum Mechanics: The dreams stuff is made of"
"Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die"
Image
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2000 2:01 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Next

Return to Technical Support / Technical Q and A

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron