hey DLink

Forum provided for public use.

Moderators: FeLiX, Mr.Magoo

hey DLink

Postby DeSyPhUr » Sun May 19, 2002 8:44 pm

What is RSVPSP.dll? Is it important or is it whats stopping me from redownloading paintshop pro? And if thats not whats stopping me from redownloading it, what is?
DeSyPhUr
I should get out more
I should get out more

hey DLink

Postby DLinkOZ » Sun May 19, 2002 9:46 pm

Not sure what that is, but MS has it nailed as a dll that's problematic with regards to cpu utilization.

As for not being able to reinstall psp (I'm assuming you want to rerun a free trial??), that sort of info is generally stored in your registry.
DLinkOZ
Site Admin
Site Admin

hey DLink

Postby DeSyPhUr » Sun May 19, 2002 11:20 pm

heres another one for ya, what is a dll? dont forget im a noob computer user
DeSyPhUr
I should get out more
I should get out more

hey DLink

Postby DLinkOZ » Mon May 20, 2002 1:40 am

You asked for it, so here it comes:

Dynamically Linked Library

<library> (DLL) A library which is linked to application programs when they are loaded or run rather than as the final phase of compilation. This means that the same block of library code can be shared between several tasks rather than each task containing copies of the routines it uses. The executable is compiled with a library of "stubs" which allow link errors to be detected at compile-time. Then, at run time, either the system loader or the task's entry code must arrange for library calls to be patched with the addresses of the real shared library routines, possibly via a jump table.

The alternative is to make library calls part of the operating system kernel and enter them via some kind of trap instruction. This is generally less efficient than an ordinary subroutine call.

It is important to ensure that the version of a dynamically linked library is compatible with what the executable expects.